About the Cover

The cover artwork is by Tamsin Edwards. The other original drawings are by

Tamsin and Stephen Francis.

Printing by Reprographics, Griffith University.



45.1 Nonviolent Defence of Beecroft Peninsula, Jervis Bay Janet Mayer

45.2 ANN Women in Action Margaret Pestorius

45.3 Nonviolent Intervention in Interpersonal Conflict: A Response

Mary Heath

Conflict Resolution

45.4 Nonviolent Conflict Resolution on Bougainville - A Vision

Anita McKone

45.5 Taking It To The Streets: Peace Troupe Mixes Activism and Performance

Cole Arendt


45.6 Nonviolent Leadership Jo Barter

45.7 Principles of the ANN Glen Ochre and

Robert Burrowes

45.8 Melbourne Nonviolence Education Collective Melbourne NEC


45.9 The Militia Movement And Civilian-Based Defense: Opposite Approaches to


Mel Beckman


45.10 Request for Stories Jo Barter

Centre for Nonviolence

is at Commonground, PO Box 474, Seymour, Victoria 3661. Phone or fax (057)

938400. Enquiries are very welcome.

Editorial Collective

We hope Nonviolence Today will promote nonviolence in a broad sense. It is

strictly nonprofit and all editors donate their time and use of personal

resources. The editors for this issue were Jan, Janelle and David. We hope

you will continue to support our efforts to promote the understanding and

practice of nonviolence.

Thanks to our Supporting Subscribers

Brian Martin Wollongong, NSW

Jan De Voogd Sydney, NSW

Janet Mayer Foxground, NSW

Mark Hayes Lismore, NSW

Cameron Edwards Sydney, NSW

Rosemary Vass Baradine, NSW

Michael Oldmeadow Rosanna, VIC

Commonground Seymour, VIC

Robin Arnold Hampton,VIC

Kevin Thomasson Herberton, QLD

Margaret Hanly Brisbane, QLD

Dane Frick Ravenshoe, QLD

Greg Ogle Canberra, ACT

David Young Karama, NT

Dee Margetts Perth, WA

Maniacal Subscribers

Gynevra Cerridwin ???

Greg Bird Sydney, NSW.

Francoise Matter &

Hugh Paterson Sydney, NSW

David Keenan Brisbane, QLD.

Pat Finegan Eaglehawk, VIC

Jo Vallentine Perth, WA.

Neville Watson Perth, WA.

Yumiko Kanebako Yokahama, Japan.



Devi Prasad Babu Mathew

Gandhi Marg Narayan Desai

Sarvodayya Friendship Centre


Mubarak Awad

Sri Lanka

Nonviolent Direct Action Group


Native Forest Network, Tasmania

Sasqati Roy Swadhina, India

Margaret Pestorius

Women Living Under Muslim Laws, Pakistan

IFOR, Netherlands Louise Finnegan

Alba Kor, Netherlands Thomas Weber

Coalition for Peace & Reconciliation, Cambodia

Society for Peace & Development, Bangladesh

Sulak Sivaraksa, Thailand

Swati & Michael, K Arunachalam, V Ramachandran, Vigil, India

Anyone can write to NvT and request adoption.