About the Cover

The cover artwork is by Tamsin Edwards. The other original drawings are by

Veronika Spendier and Tamsin.

Printing by Reprographics, Griffith University.



47.1 News from the Centre for Nonviolence Robert J. Burrowes

47.2 Phone Link-Up Report Chris

Book Review

47.3 Transforming Abuse:

Nonviolent Resistance and Recovery



Jo Barter


47.4 We Will Cultivate Peace Liz Bernstein and

Yeshua Moser


47.5 Police Liaison Anita McKone

Realizing the Truth

47.6 Nonviolence and the Inner Voice Robert J. Burrowes

Tax Resistance

47.7 Conscientious Objection to Military Tax David C. Keenan

Sexual Politics

47.8 Response to Sexual Oppression Bill Moyer

47.9 Patriarchy: a Social, not Sexual Issue Daniel Boase-Jelinek


47.10 Pan-African Reconciliation Council Eben. Ade. Adenekan.

47.11 Syllabus Request Md. Giasuddin Ahmed


Gandhi's Seven Social Sins

Politics without principle

Wealth without work

Commerce without morality

Pleasure without conscience

Education without character

Science without humanity

Worship without sacrifice

from: The Soul of Politics: a practical and prophetic vision for change Jim

Wallis; London, Harper Collins, 1994.


Centre for Nonviolence

is at Commonground, PO Box 474, Seymour, Victoria 3661. Phone or fax (057)

938400. Enquiries are very welcome.

Editorial Collective

We hope Nonviolence Today will promote nonviolence in a broad sense. It is

strictly nonprofit and all editors donate their time and use of personal

resources. The editors for this issue were Jan, Janelle and David. We hope

you will continue to support our efforts to promote the understanding and

practice of nonviolence.

Thanks to our Supporting Subscribers

Brian Martin Wollongong, NSW

Jan De Voogd Sydney, NSW

Janet Mayer Foxground, NSW

Mark Hayes Lismore, NSW

Cameron Edwards Sydney, NSW

Rosemary Vass Baradine, NSW

N & A Turkington Sydney, NSW

Michael Oldmeadow Rosanna, VIC

Commonground Seymour, VIC

Robin Arnold Hampton,VIC

Kevin Thomasson Herberton, QLD

Margaret Hanly Brisbane, QLD

Dane Frick Ravenshoe, QLD

Greg Ogle Canberra, ACT

David Young Karama, NT

Daniel Boase-Jelinek Perth, WA

Maniacal Subscribers

Gynevra Cerridwin ???

Greg Bird Sydney, NSW.

Francoise Matter &

Hugh Paterson Sydney, NSW

David Keenan Brisbane, QLD.

Pat Finegan Eaglehawk, VIC

Jo Vallentine Perth, WA.

Neville Watson Perth, WA.

Yumiko Kanebako Yokahama, Japan.



Sarvodayya Friendship Centre

Devi Prasad Babu Mathew Gandhi Marg Narayan Desai


Mubarak Awad

Sri Lanka

Nonviolent Direct Action Group


Native Forest Network, Tasmania

Saswati Roy Swadhina, India

Margaret Pestorius

The Commonweal Collection, England

Geoff Harris

Women Living Under Muslim Laws, Pakistan Centre for Nonviolence

IFOR, Netherlands Louise Finnegan

Alba Kor, Hungary Thomas Weber

Coalition for Peace & Reconciliation, Cambodia

Society for Peace & Development, Bangladesh

Sulak Sivaraksa, Thailand

ECT Resource Centre, South Africa

Swati & Michael, K Arunachalam, V Ramachandran, The Dalai Lama,

Vigil, India

Anyone can write to NvT and request adoption.